Persons

Николай Иванович Боргардт
Dr. Sci. (Phys.¬-Math.), Prof., Director of the Institute of Physics and Applied Mathematics, Head of the Research Laboratory of Electron Microscopy Studies, National Research University of Electronic Technology (Russia, 124498, Moscow, Zelenograd, Shokin sq., 1)

Article author

Metal nanoparticles are promising objects of research, since their properties are significantly different from the bulk material. When analyzing nanoparticles, it is important to study their size, stability, structural features and spatial arrangement. The initial and annealed nanoparticles of silver, formed on a carbon substrate by vacuum-thermal evaporation and having dimensions from 2 nm up to 10 nm, have been studied by using the high resolution electron microscopy method. The classification of their form and structure has been carried out. Among the studied ones the nanoparticles in the shape of a faceted ellipsoid with a polycrystalline structure, coarse nanoparticles with a monocrystalline structure and twins, icosahedral and decahedral nanoparticles with multiple twinning, and also, small single crystalline nanoparticles with dimensions less than 3.5 nm, have been revealed. It has been found that a result of annealing the number of small nanoparticles has been about 2 times decreased and the fraction of nanoparticles with icosahedral and decahedral shapes has been approximately 1.5 times increased. It has been shown that the nanoparticles with sizes less than 5 nm are unstable after a few seconds of exposure to high-energy electrons. For small initial and annealed single crystalline nanoparticles of less than 3 nm size the mean values of the lattice constant have been found by the precise determination of the atomic column centers on their images and the calculation of the local interplanar spacing values between the atoms located in mutually orthogonal (200) and (022) planes. It has been shown that in such nanoparticles both prior and after annealing there had been no noticeable distortions of the crystal structure and their lattice constant had been close to the value, characteristic for bulk silver.

  • Counter: 1283 | Comments : 0

To create memory cells of new generation, epitaxial layers of GeSbTe (GST) material, with high crystalline perfection, and multilayered crystalline structures based on GeTe/SbTe superlattices grown on Si-wafers are of interest. This initiates the study of these and alike materials generation patterns, including with the involvement of molecular beam epitaxy. In this work, the structure of 13 nm thick layers of GST material, used to create phase-change memory cells was studied. These layers were grown on an Sb-passivated Si(111) substrate by molecular beam epitaxy. Research studies were carried out by transmission electron microscopy and electron diffraction analysis. Using high-resolution images of cross-sectional samples and diffraction patterns from planar thin foils, it was revealed that the layer consists of crystalline grains, mostly hexagonal, and in some local regions of the vacancy ordered cubic GST phase with the GST(0001) and GST(111) planes parallel to the Si(111). Based on an analysis of the moiré pattern appearing in bright-field electron microscopy images, it was found that the misorientation of the grains of the epitaxial layer around the Si(111) direction varies from 0 to 13.5º, and nearly 26 % of the surface area is almost non-rotated grains. Grains rotates within the angles from 0.2 to 2º occupy about 34 % of the layer surface area, from 2 to 8º occupy about 33 %, and the fraction of the area of grains rotated by more than 8º is close to 7 %. It has been found that as the rotation angle of the GST grains relative to the substrate increased, their average lateral size decreased from about 150 nm for non-rotated grains to 80 nm for grains rotated at an angle of more than 8º, and the average value of the rotation angle was approximately 2.6º. The data obtained on the grain structure of the epitaxial layer indicate that the relaxation of the misfit stresses of the crystal lattices of silicon and the GST material is provided both by the rotation of grains and, apparently, by the formation of misfit dislocations.

  • Counter: 438 | Comments : 0

The results of electron microscopy studies of a thin epitaxial aluminum layer on a misoriented gallium arsenide substrate are presented. It has been found that the layer consists of differently oriented domains and their crystal lattices coherently conjugate with the substrate forming misfit dislocations at the interface, as in the case of the layer grown on a singular substrate. Atomic steps on the substrate surface have been visualized and their influence on the growth of aluminum domains have been discussed.

  • Counter: 1030 | Comments : 0

The results of the electron microscopy studies of a thin InAlAs epitaxial layer on the GaAs(100) substrate have been reported. The misfit dislocations at the heterointerface have been revealed, however, a residual strain has been found to exist in the layer, which distorts its lattice. By measuring the layer lattice parameters along the growth direction and perpendicular to it away from the misfit dislocations, the nominal lattice parameter has been locally calculated and the indium content has been found.

  • Counter: 998 | Comments : 0

Персоналии

Николай Иванович Боргардт
доктор физико-математических наук, профессор, директор Института физики и прикладной математики, начальник научно-исследовательской лаборатории электронно-микроскопических исследований Национального исследовательского университета «МИЭТ» (Россия, 124498, г. Москва, г. Зеленоград, пл. Шокина,1)

Статьи автора

Наночастицы металлов - перспективный объект исследования, так как их свойства существенно отличаются от объемного материала. При анализировании наночастиц важным является изучение их размера, стабильности, особенностей структуры, а также пространственного расположения. В работе методом высокоразрешающей электронной микроскопии изучены исходные и отожженные наночастицы серебра, сформированные на углеродной подложке вакуумно-термическим испарением и имеющие размеры от ~2 до 10 нм. Проведена классификация их формы и структуры. Среди исследованных выявлены наночастицы в виде ограненного эллипсоида с поликристаллической структурой, крупные с монокристаллической структурой и двойниками, икосаэдрические и декаэдрические с множественным двойникованием, а также маленькие монокристаллические наночастицы размером менее 3,5 нм. Установлено, что в результате отжига общее количество наночастиц становится меньше примерно в 1,3 раза, число маленьких наночастиц уменьшается приблизительно в 2 раза, а доля наночастиц с икосаэдрической и декаэдрической огранками увеличивается примерно в 1,5 раза. Показано, что наночастицы размером менее 5 нм являются нестабильными уже после нескольких секунд воздействия на них высокоэнергетическими электронами. Для маленьких монокристаллических наночастиц размером менее 3,5 нм найдены средние значения параметра кристаллической решетки на основе прецизионного определения центров атомных колонок на их изображениях и вычисления локальных расстояний между атомами, расположенными во взаимно перпендикулярных плоскостях (200) и (022). Показано, что в таких наночастицах как до отжига, так и после него отсутствуют заметные искажения кристаллической структуры и их параметр решетки близок к значению, характерному для массивного серебра.

  • Просмотров: 1255 | Комментариев : 0

Для создания элементов памяти нового поколения представляют интерес эпитаксиальные слои GeSbTe (GST) с высоким кристаллическим совершенством, а также многослойные кристаллические структуры на основе сверхрешеток GeTe/SbTe, выращенные на кремниевых подложках. Это инициирует изучение закономерностей формирования подобных материалов, в том числе с применением метода молекулярно-пучковой эпитаксии. В работе исследована структура тонкого эпитаксиального слоя (толщиной 13 нм) GST, используемого для создания ячеек памяти на основе изменения фазового состояния вещества. Слои выращены на пассивированной сурьмой подложке Si(111) методом молекулярно-пучковой эпитаксии. Исследования проведены методами просвечивающей электронной микроскопии и электронографического анализа с применением образцов поперечного и планарного сечений. Получены высокоразрешающие изображения образцов поперечного сечения, а также дифракционные картины от тонкой фольги планарного сечения и ее светлопольные микрофотографии. Выявлено, что слой состоит из кристаллически совершенных зерен в основном гексагональной фазы, а в некоторых локальных областях - из упорядоченной кубической фазы GST, базисные плоскости которой параллельны поверхности подложки. На основе количественного анализа муарового узора, возникающего на светлопольных электронно-микроскопических изображениях, установлено, что зерна, для которых плоскости GST( ) и Si(220) развернуты относительно друг друга вокруг направления роста в пределах 2°, занимают около 60 % площади поверхности эпитаксиального слоя, 26 % приходится на практически неразвернутые зерна. Доля площади зерен, разориентированных относительно подложки на углы от 2 до 8º, близка к 33 %, а на угол более 8º развернуты зерна, занимающие около 7 % площади слоя. Средний угол разворота равен примерно 2,6°. Средний оценочный размер неразвернутых зерен составляет около 150 нм и уменьшается по мере роста угла разворота относительно подложки. Выявленные закономерности зернистой структуры эпитаксиального слоя GST свидетельствуют об ориентирующем влиянии подложки Si(111) на его формирование.

  • Просмотров: 378 | Комментариев : 0

Представлены результаты электронно-микроскопических исследований тонкого эпитаксиального слоя алюминия на разориентированной подложке арсенида галлия. Установлено, что слой состоит из зерен различных ориентаций, кристаллические решетки которых когерентно сопрягаются с подложкой с образованием дислокаций несоответствия, как и в случае слоя на сингулярной подложке. Визуализированы атомные ступени на поверхности подложки и обсуждено их влияние на рост кристаллических зерен алюминия.

  • Просмотров: 1008 | Комментариев : 0

Представлены результаты электронно-микроскопических исследований эпитаксиального слоя InAlAs на подложке GaAs(100). Установлено, что на границе раздела материалов присутствуют дислокации несоответствия, а в слое имеются остаточные деформации, искажающие решетку. В результате измерения параметров решетки слоя вдоль направления роста и перпендикулярно ему вдали от дислокаций несоответствия локально вычислен номинальный параметр решетки слоя и определена доля индия.

  • Просмотров: 980 | Комментариев : 0