Electron Microscopy Studies of the Structure of Thin Epitaxial GeSbTe Layers Grown on Si(111) Substrate

Electron Microscopy Studies of the Structure of Thin Epitaxial GeSbTe Layers Grown on Si(111) Substrate

To create memory cells of new generation, epitaxial layers of GeSbTe (GST) material, with high crystalline perfection, and multilayered crystalline structures based on GeTe/SbTe superlattices grown on Si-wafers are of interest. This initiates the study of these and alike materials generation patterns, including with the involvement of molecular beam epitaxy. In this work, the structure of 13 nm thick layers of GST material, used to create phase-change memory cells was studied. These layers were grown on an Sb-passivated Si(111) substrate by molecular beam epitaxy. Research studies were carried out by transmission electron microscopy and electron diffraction analysis. Using high-resolution images of cross-sectional samples and diffraction patterns from planar thin foils, it was revealed that the layer consists of crystalline grains, mostly hexagonal, and in some local regions of the vacancy ordered cubic GST phase with the GST(0001) and GST(111) planes parallel to the Si(111). Based on an analysis of the moiré pattern appearing in bright-field electron microscopy images, it was found that the misorientation of the grains of the epitaxial layer around the Si(111) direction varies from 0 to 13.5º, and nearly 26 % of the surface area is almost non-rotated grains. Grains rotates within the angles from 0.2 to 2º occupy about 34 % of the layer surface area, from 2 to 8º occupy about 33 %, and the fraction of the area of grains rotated by more than 8º is close to 7 %. It has been found that as the rotation angle of the GST grains relative to the substrate increased, their average lateral size decreased from about 150 nm for non-rotated grains to 80 nm for grains rotated at an angle of more than 8º, and the average value of the rotation angle was approximately 2.6º. The data obtained on the grain structure of the epitaxial layer indicate that the relaxation of the misfit stresses of the crystal lattices of silicon and the GST material is provided both by the rotation of grains and, apparently, by the formation of misfit dislocations.
  • Key words: phase change memory, Ge-Sb-Te system, epitaxial layer, Si(111) substrate, transmission electron microscopy, electron diffraction analysis
  • Finance source information: работа выполнена при финансовой поддержке Минобрнауки РФ (тема АААА-А20-120071490069-9, соглашение № 075-03-2020-216, код 0719-2020-0018) с использованием оборудования ЦКП «Диагностика и модификация микроструктур и нанообъектов».
  • Bibliography link: Zaytseva Yu.S, Borgardt N.I., Prikhodko A.S., Zallo E., Calarco R. Electron microscopy studies of the structure of thin epitaxial Ge2Sb2Te5 layer grown on Si(111) substrate. Proc. Univ. Electronics, 2021, vol. 26, no. 3-4, pp. 214–225. DOI: https://doi.org/10.24151/1561-5405-2021-26-3-4-214-225
Yuliya S. Zaytseva
National Research University of Electronic Technology, Moscow, Russia
Nikolay I. Borgardt
National Research University of Electronic Technology, Moscow, Russia
Alexander S. Prikhodko
National Research University of Electronic Technology, Moscow, Russia
Eugenio Zallo
Technische Universität München, Garching, Germany
Raffaella Calarco
CNR Institute for Microelectronics and Microsystems, Roma, Italy
Share

Электронно-микроскопические исследования структуры тонких эпитаксиальных слоев GeSbTe, выращенных на подложке Si(111)

Электронно-микроскопические исследования структуры тонких эпитаксиальных слоев GeSbTe, выращенных на подложке Si(111)

Для создания элементов памяти нового поколения представляют интерес эпитаксиальные слои GeSbTe (GST) с высоким кристаллическим совершенством, а также многослойные кристаллические структуры на основе сверхрешеток GeTe/SbTe, выращенные на кремниевых подложках. Это инициирует изучение закономерностей формирования подобных материалов, в том числе с применением метода молекулярно-пучковой эпитаксии. В работе исследована структура тонкого эпитаксиального слоя (толщиной 13 нм) GST, используемого для создания ячеек памяти на основе изменения фазового состояния вещества. Слои выращены на пассивированной сурьмой подложке Si(111) методом молекулярно-пучковой эпитаксии. Исследования проведены методами просвечивающей электронной микроскопии и электронографического анализа с применением образцов поперечного и планарного сечений. Получены высокоразрешающие изображения образцов поперечного сечения, а также дифракционные картины от тонкой фольги планарного сечения и ее светлопольные микрофотографии. Выявлено, что слой состоит из кристаллически совершенных зерен в основном гексагональной фазы, а в некоторых локальных областях - из упорядоченной кубической фазы GST, базисные плоскости которой параллельны поверхности подложки. На основе количественного анализа муарового узора, возникающего на светлопольных электронно-микроскопических изображениях, установлено, что зерна, для которых плоскости GST( ) и Si(220) развернуты относительно друг друга вокруг направления роста в пределах 2°, занимают около 60 % площади поверхности эпитаксиального слоя, 26 % приходится на практически неразвернутые зерна. Доля площади зерен, разориентированных относительно подложки на углы от 2 до 8º, близка к 33 %, а на угол более 8º развернуты зерна, занимающие около 7 % площади слоя. Средний угол разворота равен примерно 2,6°. Средний оценочный размер неразвернутых зерен составляет около 150 нм и уменьшается по мере роста угла разворота относительно подложки. Выявленные закономерности зернистой структуры эпитаксиального слоя GST свидетельствуют об ориентирующем влиянии подложки Si(111) на его формирование.
  • Ключевые слова: фазовая память, система Ge-Sb-Te, эпитаксиальный слой, подложка Si(111), просвечивающая электронная микроскопия, электронографический анализ
  • Информация о финансировании: работа выполнена при финансовой поддержке Минобрнауки РФ (тема АААА-А20-120071490069-9, соглашение № 075-03-2020-216, код 0719-2020-0018) с использованием оборудования ЦКП «Диагностика и модификация микроструктур и нанообъектов».
  • Для цитирования: Электронно-микроскопические исследования структуры тонкого эпитаксиального слоя Ge2Sb2Te5, выращенного на подложке Si(111) / Ю.С. Зайцева, Н.И. Боргардт, А.С. Приходько и др. // Изв. вузов. Электроника. 2021. Т. 26. № 3-4. С. 214–225. DOI: https://doi.org/10.24151/1561-5405-2021-26-3-4-214-225
Юлия Сергеевна Зайцева
Национальный исследовательский университет «МИЭТ»
Николай Иванович Боргардт
Национальный исследовательский университет МИЭТ, г. Москва, Россия
Александр Сергеевич Приходько
Национальный исследовательский университет «МИЭТ»
Eugenio Zallo
Мюнхенский технический университет
Raffaella Calarco
Институт микроэлектроники и микросистем
Поделиться